Sunny Side Up


15 December 2010

14 Schools from the Fraser Electorate have received grants from the Federal Government to become more energy efficient. Each successful school will receive $50,000 to help install a range of green technologies including solar panels and other renewable power systems and rainwater tanks.

Minister for Climate Change and Energy Efficiency, Greg Combet, and the Parliamentary Secretary Mark Dreyfus, announced the grants as part of an announcement today which saw 1,226 schools from across the country receive  $51 million from the Australian Government’s $420 million National Solar Schools Program.

Federal Member for Fraser, Andrew Leigh, congratulated the schools on taking positive steps to deal with climate change.                                                            

“Our schools have realised the threat which climate change presents and are looking at the green steps they can take,” said Dr Leigh. 

“Canberra schools have already started doing some great things. We have schools with solar panels that not only provide green energy for the school but allow students to learn about energy use by having smart meters that allow real time monitoring of energy consumption across the school. 

“The National Solar Schools Program will give an opportunity to these 14 schools to become more sustainable as well as have students learn about energy use and the renewable energy sector firsthand. 

“We’re helping schools become energy efficient while also skilling our students for the world of tomorrow,” concluded Dr Leigh. 

The Minister for Climate Change and Energy Efficiency, Greg Combet, said more than 2,600 schools across the nation had already been funded under the  National Solar Schools Program and more than 93 per cent of those projects included solar power systems. 

“This equates to approximately 11 megawatts of solar power – the equivalent of meeting the electricity needs of around 2,400 average households each day,” Mr Combet said. 

Applications were assessed using merit-based criteria, meaning schools had to demonstrate value for money, as well as environmental and educational benefits. Applicants who were not successful in this round will be eligible to re-apply in future rounds. 

Further information about the National Solar Schools Program including a list of all successful grant recipients is available on the Department of Climate Change and Energy Efficiency website:


List of grant recipients

Lake Ginninderra College
Campbell Primary School
Evatt Primary School
Kaleen Primary School
Lyneham High School
Macquarie Primary School
Canberra High School
Black Mountain School
Turner School
Majura Primary
Good Shepherd Primary School
St Thomas More's Primary School
Blue Gum Community School
Rosary Primary School

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.

Stay in touch

Subscribe to our monthly newsletter


Cnr Gungahlin Pl and Efkarpidis Street, Gungahlin ACT 2912 | 02 6247 4396 | [email protected] | Authorised by A. Leigh MP, Australian Labor Party (ACT Branch), Canberra.