Local schools go solar

I wrote to all of my local schools in the Fraser electorate in May this year encouraging them to apply for grants under the National Solar Schools Program for solar energy systems, rainwater tanks and other energy efficiency measures. It must have paid off because 17 schools were successful under the final round. The media release from last week is below.
Andrew Leigh MP

Member for Fraser


30 August 2012


Member for Fraser, Andrew Leigh, is pleased to announce that 17 schools from the Fraser electorate will receive grants as part of the final round of the Australian Government’s National Solar Schools Program.

Deputy Prime Minister Wayne Swan, together with Parliamentary Secretary for Climate Change and Energy Efficiency, Mark Dreyfus, recently announced 804 schools from around Australia had been awarded grants of up to $50,000.

These grants are being used to install renewable solar energy systems, rainwater tanks and other energy efficiency measures to cut pollution and save money on electricity bills.

This program’s popularity shows that schools are keen to reduce their energy consumption and conserve water, giving students and local school communities the opportunity to experience renewable energy generation first-hand.

Since the program began, more than 5,400 schools (close to 60%) across the nation have received a grant. In this round, 17 schools in the Fraser electorate received grants, well above the national average of 5 grants per electorate.

Funding under the Solar Schools Program is used to install a either solar power system, rainwater tanks and/or other energy efficient items.

Applications were assessed using merit-based criteria. Schools demonstrated value for money, as well as environmental and educational benefits.

Further information about the National Solar Schools Program including a list of successful grant recipients is available on the Department of Climate Change and Energy Efficiency website: www.climatechange.gov.au/nationalsolarschools/

School Funding amount
Ainslie North Primary $25,000
Mount Rogers Primary School $25,000
Latham Primary School $25,000
Charnwood-Dunlop School $25,000
Maribyrnong Primary School $25,000
Fraser Primary School $25,000
Miles Franklin Primary School $25,000
University of Canberra High School Kaleen $25,000
St Vincent's Primary School $49,818
Gold Creek School $15,000
Campbell High School $25,000
Palmerston District Primary School $25,000
Ngunnawal Primary $25,000
Macgregor Primary $25,000
Jervis Bay Primary $23,636
Hawker College $25,000
Florey Primary $25,000

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.

Stay in touch

Subscribe to our monthly newsletter


Cnr Gungahlin Pl and Efkarpidis Street, Gungahlin ACT 2912 | 02 6247 4396 | [email protected] | Authorised by A. Leigh MP, Australian Labor Party (ACT Branch), Canberra.