Local teachers recognised at national awards

Gai Brodtmann and I congratulated some outstanding local teachers over the weekend.
Teachers and principals from the ACT have been recognised at the 2011 Australian Awards for Outstanding Teaching and School Leadership for their hard work and dedication.

Member for Fraser, Andrew Leigh, and Member for Canberra, Gai Brodtmann, today congratulated five exceptional local teachers who received recognition as territory finalists at a ceremony in Melbourne.

“These finalists have made an outstanding contribution to our community by demonstrating innovation in their teaching practices and providing a positive schooling experience for local students,” Gai Brodtmann said.

“There are few jobs more important than teaching young Australians. Awards such as these help to raise the status of teachers who are delivering high-quality education for young Australians,” Andrew Leigh said.

Minister for School Education Peter Garrett presented the national winners with their awards at an event hosted by the Australian Institute for Teaching and School Leadership on Thursday 13 October 2011.

Certificates were presented to 39 state and territory finalists, from which the Minister’s

Award and four national winners were selected in the following categories:

  • Australian Primary Teacher of the Year

  • Australian Secondary Teacher of the Year

  • Australian Primary Principal of the Year

  • Australian Secondary Principal of the Year

  • Minister’s Award for Excellence in Teaching or Leadership in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Education

Winners of the national award will receive a professional learning scholarship to work with recognised education experts and practitioners within Australia or overseas.

A full list of finalists in the Australian Awards for Outstanding Teaching and School Leadership is available at: www.aitsl.edu.au

ACT finalists:

Category Nominee School
Primary Principal Liz Wallace Isabella Plains Early Childhood School
Secondary Principal Michael Lee St Mary MacKillop College, Canberra
Minister’s Award Lyle Swan Telopea Park School
Primary Teacher Glynis Steward Florey Primary School
Secondary Teacher Caitlin Hanby University of Canberra Senior Secondary College

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.

Stay in touch

Subscribe to our monthly newsletter


Cnr Gungahlin Pl and Efkarpidis Street, Gungahlin ACT 2912 | 02 6247 4396 | [email protected] | Authorised by A. Leigh MP, Australian Labor Party (ACT Branch), Canberra.